Loading Events

  • This event has passed.

Celebrity Storytime with Kat Zhang

Oct 5   •   10:30 am - 11:30 am
  •   Cost: Free

Grab the kids and head to Celebrity Storytime at Left Bank Books.

 

Local YA and middle reader author Kat Zhang will sign and discuss her debut children’s book, “Amy Wu & the Perfect Bao.” Perfect for fans of “Olivia and Madeline,” meet the funny, fierce, and fearless Amy Wu, who is determined to make a perfect bao bun. Can she rise to the occasion? “Amy Wu & the Perfect Bao” gives readers a glimpse into the home and routines of a Chinese-American family, and with it, providing representation at the young reader level that isn’t often seen in the picture book space.

 

Zhang’s tale captures the universal story about family, problem-solving, and the ways that food brings people together. Combined with Chinese-Canadian Charlene Chua’s illustrations, which are full of humor, warmth, and vibrancy, this duo brings the bao-making process to bold, mouthwatering life. Readers are guaranteed to be hungry by the end of the story, and there’s no better way to end the read than utilizing the recipe in the back of the book based on the author’s family’s recipe!

Participating Members:

Left Bank Books